Together As One Catholic Area Catholic Communities

Together As One Logo


Jesus touches our lives through the Sacraments.

Our celebrations of the sacraments are signs of Jesus’ presence in our lives and a means for receiving his grace. The Church celebrates seven Sacraments, which are divided into three categories.  There is directions on how to  contact someone at the bottom of this page if you have general questions about any of the sacraments, or are interested in receiving any of the sacraments and want to learn more about the process.

Sacraments of Initiation:


In Baptism we receive new life in Christ. Baptism takes away original sin and gives us a new birth in the Holy Spirit. Its sign is the pouring of water. We baptize as those as young as days or a few weeks old, and also welcome older children, teens and adults who were never baptized and are interested in receiving this beautiful sacrament.  


The Eucharist nourishes our life of faith. Its signs are the bread and wine we receive—the Body and Blood of Christ.  Children as young as 2nd grade receive their First Communion after going through Formation classes to understand this sacrament.  We also welcome older children or adults into classes who are interested in receiving this sacrament.  What is most important after First Communion is continuing to receive Jesus on a regular basis at Mass – we are all invited every week, and some even feel called to receive Him at Daily Mass.

The Eucharist is the Source & Summit of our Faith.  We can also go to spend time with him in what we call Eucharistic Adoration, when He is exposed in a special way (called a monstrance) and we can just look upon Him in Thanksgiving for all He has done.  


Confirmation seals our life of faith in Jesus. Its signs are the laying on of hands on a person’s head, most often by a bishop, and the anointing with oil. Many young people are Confirmed around 10th grade.  For young and older adults that are curious about the Catholic Church or are seeking Confirmation, we offer classes that meet you where ever you are in your Faith Journey.  Like Baptism, Confirmation is received only once.

Sacraments of Healing:

These sacraments celebrate the healing power of Jesus.


Through Penance we receive God’s forgiveness. Forgiveness requires being sorry for our sins. In Penance we receive Jesus’ healing grace through absolution by the priest. The signs of this sacrament are our confession of sins and the words of absolution.

Anointing of the Sick

This sacrament unites a sick person’s suffering with that of Jesus and brings forgiveness of sins. Oil, a symbol of strength, is the sign of this sacrament. A person is anointed with oil and receives the laying on of hands from a priest.

Sacraments at the Service of Community:

These sacraments help members serve the community.


In Matrimony a baptized man and woman are united with each other as a sign of the unity between Jesus and his Church. Matrimony requires the consent of the couple, as expressed in the marriage promises. The couple and their wedding rings are the signs of this sacrament.

Holy Orders

In Holy Orders men are ordained as priests, deacons, or bishops. Priests serve as spiritual leaders of their communities, and deacons serve to remind us of our baptismal call to help others. Bishops carry on the teachings of the apostles. The signs of this sacrament are the laying on of hands and anointing with oil by the bishop.  

More information on who to contact for any of these Sacraments is on our Staff Page